National Sports University (NSU)
The National Sports University (NSU) was constituted under the National Sports University Act, 2018 (No. 25 of 2018) in Manipur. The University is presently functional from its temporary campus at the Khuman Lampak Sports Complex, Imphal. Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi laid the foundation stone for the University's proposed 325-acre campus at Imphal West on 16th March 2018. The construction work is underway at the proposed site.
NSU is the first Central University to be set up in India to focus on sports education and produce top athletes, sports scientists, and physical educationists.
The University would be organized under four schools:
i.  School of Sports Science and Sports Medicine: Departments of Sports Physiology and Nutrition, Sports Biomechanical Science, Sports Psychology, Sports Biomechanics and Movement Sciences, Preventive and Rehabilitative Sciences, Sports Medicine, Disability Sports and Adventure Sports.
ii.  School of Sports Management and Technology: Departments of Sports Management and Digital Media, Sports Technology and Architecture.
iii.  School of Sports Education and Coaching: Departments of Physical Education, Sports Coaching.
iv.  School of Interdisciplinary Studies: Departments of Languages, Sports Sociology, Peace and Development.
NSU will also function as the national training centre for selected sports disciplines by adopting the best international practices by signing Memoranda of Understanding (MoU) with international universities.